A State University established under Bihar Universities Act 1976

Established in 1992 

about university

Bhupendra Narayan Mandal University (B. N. Mandal University), Madhepura is a State University situated near the district headquarters at Laloo-nagar, Madhepura, Bihar. It came into existence on the 10th of January, 1992 in the name of great socialist leader late Bhupendra Narayan Mandal. The city of Madhepura is very well connected through several national and state highways and the University is located near the junction of NH-106 and NH-107. Nearest airport at Darbhanga is nearly 100 km distant. Madhepura and adjoining places like Singheswar and Mahishi are known for their utmost religious importance in Hindu mythology and hence the city is a famous pilgrimage.  At present, the territorial jurisdiction of the University is extended over three district i.e; Madhepura, Saharsa and Supaul and also touches with the international boundary of Nepal. Therefore, large number are students from Nepal also take admission at the University.

Since its inception, the University is known for adding glory to the educational atmosphere of the Kosi and Purnea division of north and north eastern districts of Bihar.  In 2018, a separate University i.e; Purnea University was carved out of B. N. Mandal University and all the colleges of Purnea division was included there. The University caters the needs of higher education of nearly 60 Lacs population residing in these rural district of Bihar. The university is recognized under 12(B) and 2(f) of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, 1956 and it is a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU). It has received grants under both XIth and XIIth plan from UGC. The University is in process of getting accreditation by NAAC in 2023.

The university is spreaded over nearly 100 acres of beautiful landscape having sprawling green campus The old campus of the University (South Campus) has nearly 20 acre area located near the district headquarter at Laloo Nagar, Madhepura (Bihar), while a new campus (North Campus) with nearly 70 acre of land is located at Jajhat Sabaila, Singeshwar, Madhepura where most of the academic Departments have been functioning. Another campus at Saharsa (West Campus) is located at Manohar Lal Tekriwal (MLT) College premises and also incorporate several academic Departments (Post-graduate) which have been functioning since establishment of the University. The University provides various programs through several colleges and institutes located in Madhepura, Saharsa and Supaul districts. It also acts as an affiliating institution and offers undergraduate, postgraduate and PhD programs through its constituents and affiliated colleges, medical institutes and University Departments. The university also conducts various vocational and technical courses in Science Commerce, and Social Science. Currently, there are 5 Faculties consisting of 20  University Department, 14 constituent colleges (additionally 2 more colleges sanction at Simri Bakhtiyarpur , Saharsa and Triveniganj, Supaul) ,  17 affiliated colleges, 2 law colleges, 13 teachers training colleges, 2 pharmacy colleges and 2 medical institutes of the region.

Academic Departments at North and West campus is fully equipped with all the essential facilities required for effective teaching-learning like Smart Classroom, Interactive Display, Free Wi-Fi, and advanced laboratories. At these campuses mostly conventional post graduate courses are running while at South campus there is faculty of Education and Department of Library and information science having both undergraduate and post-graduate courses. All these courses are following the latest curriculum based on CBCS pattern as recommended by UGC and Bihar Higher Education Council. PhD programme of all department are following the latest regulations of UGC and research work are published only in Journals of high repute. There are various research work carried out in collaboration with other Universities, National institutes and also with NGO and Industries. Many Department have also received funding from UGC, BARC, DST and other agency for research. In this regard, several MOUs are also signed with different organizations and Industries. The university is also conducting Skill Development Programme with the help of post graduate Department to impart vocational training to the students and research scholar.

The University has established Senate and Syndicate which acts as the Executive body and have the power of management and administration of the revenue and property of the University and the conduct of all administrative affairs of the University. In addition to the University level Academic and Financial council, each department has separate Departmental (DC) and Department Research Council (DRC). The financial expenditure is borne by both UGC and Bihar State Higher Education Council (BSHEC). The faculties and staff of the universities are highly efficient and comprises of both regular and contractual staff and the state council is also recruiting both teaching and administrative staff regularly.

Overall, B. N. Mandal University is catering the need of large population mainly belonging to rural and underprivileged background and imparting high quality knowledge.